Essien: “We’re not afraid of Manchester United, we’re excited and keen to play”

Essien
“I’ve played against Manchester United a number of times and they have many experienced attackers, but it’ll be up to us to find the means to stop them”, the Ghanaian midfielder stated

Realmadrid.com

Michael Essien joined Jose Mourinho in the Santiago Bernabeu press room a little over 24 hours before the match against Manchester United. It won’t be the first time that the Ghanaian midfielder goes up against the English team, but it’ll be his first time appearing against the Brits in the Real Madrid shirt. He’s beaten them on six occasions, so he knows what he’s talking about when it comes to the team that Alex Ferguson manages: “We’re not afraid of Manchester United, we’re excited and keen to play. It’ll be difficult and we’re going to see a great game. I’ve played against them a number of times and I can’t wait for the match. I want to support the team in all aspects. The fans are going to be fantastic, I’m sure they’ll help us”.

The Real Madrid footballer praised Mourinho: “He’s been magnificent to me. I’m really pleased to be here. He’s smiling. He’s always pleased, happy and working hard for the team. I’ve never seen him sad”. With regards to whether he’s going to be in the starting line-up against the English team, he commented: “Ask my father”.

Asked about Cristiano Ronaldo, who will be playing against Manchester United for the first time since leaving the English team, he said: “He’s anxious and wants the game to start already. He’s feeling a lot of emotion and he’s in great physical condition to face this match. I’m sure that he’ll help us”.

The Real Madrid midfielder also spoke of his progress with the Whites: “I couldn’t turn down this opportunity and I enjoy every minute. I want to work hard so that the team wins. At the moment everything’s going very well. The months I’ve been here have been fantastic and I’ve loved my experiences so far. It’s all been excellent and I hope to be able to continue this way”.

Regarding whether Manchester United is more offensive at home than away, he replied: “I don’t think I can answer that question. The have many good players, attackers with a lot of experience, and it’s going to be up to them and to us to find the means to stop them”.

Lastly, in reference to the Manchester United footballers Evra and Kagawa, he explained:“Evra is a great player and one of the best left backs in the world. He always gives 100% for his team. I don’t know Kagawa well. If Manchester United has spent money on him he must be a good player. He’s had some injuries”.

Leave a Reply

