Full list of winners at AMAA Awards 2013


The African Movie Academy Awards was held on the 20th of April, 2013 in Yenegoa, Bayelsa state.The event was hosted by Ama K. Abebrese and had notable Nollywood stars in attendance including Chioma Akpotha,Femi Jacobs, Linda Ejiofor, Rita Dominic, Banky W, Jude Okoye, AY Makun, Waje and more.

It was not a surprise as Nollywood Movies dominated the nominations and won most of the categories.

Check out the full list of winners below:

And the winners of the 2013 AMAA’s  are…

  • Best Short FilmKwaku Ananse – Akosua Adoma Owusu (Ghana)
  • Best DocumentaryFuelling Poverty (Nigeria)
  • Best Diaspora Feature – Stones In The Sun (Haiti / United States)
  • Best Diaspora Documentary – Fan Do Brasil (Brazil / Guatamela)
  • Best Animation – Adventure Of Zambezia (South Africa)
  • Best Film By An African Abroad – Last Flight To Abuja (United Kingdom / Nigeria)
  • Achievement In Production Design – Elelwani (South Africa)
  • Achievement In Costume Design – Blood And Henna (Nigeria)
  • Achievement In Make-up – The Meeting (Nigeria)
  • Achievement In Soundtrack – The Last Fishing Boat (Malawi)
  • Achievement In Visual Effects – The Twin Sword (Nigeria)
  • Achievement In Sound – Nairobi Half Life (Kenya)
  • Achievement In Cinematography – Uhlanga, The Mark (South Africa)
  • Achievement In Editing – Hereos And Zeroes (Nigeria)
  • Achievement In Lightning – Moi Zaphira (Burkina Faso)
  • Achievement In Screenplay – Hereos And Zeroes (Nigeria)
  • Best Nigerian Film – Confusion Na Wa (Nigeria)
  • Best Film In An African Language – Moi Zaphira (Burkina Faso)
  • Best Child Actor – The Ugandan (Uganda)
  • Best Promising Actor – Joseph Wairimu for “Nairobi Half Life” (Kenya)
  • Best Promising Actress – Belinda Effah for “Kokomma” (Nigeria)
  • Best Actor In A Supporting Role – Gabriel Afolayan for “Hoodrush” (Nigeria)
  • Best Actress In A Supporting Role – Hermelinda Cimela for “Virgin Magarida” (Mozambique)
  • Best Actor In A Leading Role – Justus Esiri for “Assasins Practice” (Nigeria)
  • Best Actress In A Leading Role – Florence Masebe for “Elelwani” (South Africa)
  • Best Director – Niji Akanni for “Hereos And Zeroes” (Nigeria)
  • Best Film – Confusion Na Wa (Nigeria)
  • Lifetime Achievement Awards – Tunde Kelani | Chief Eddi Ugboma | Sir Ositadinma Okeke Oguno (Ossy Affason) | Ayuko Badu | Chief Pete Edochie
  • Film/Video Producers and Marketers Association of Nigeria (FVPMAN) Special Jury Award – Ninah’s Dairy (Cameorun)
  • Special Recognition of Pillars of Nollywood @ 20 – Emem Isong | Kanayo O. Kanayo | Kenneth Okonkwo

Femi Jacobs, LindaEjiofor


chioma Akpotha


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s